Date: 3rd March 2014

12 Years a Slave and Gravity share Academy spoils.

12 Years a Slave (2013) has won best picture at the 86th Academy Awards, while space drama Gravity (2013) won the lion's share of awards.

Gravity's Alfonso Cuaron became the first Latino to win the best director award, adding to the film's six Oscars for technical achievement.

Cate Blanchett was named best actress for her portrayal of the heroine in Woody Allen's Blue Jasmine (2013).

Matthew McConaughey won the best actor Oscar for Dallas Buyers Club (2013).

It is the second consecutive year the best director and best picture prize have been awarded to different films.

Steve McQueen, the British director of 12 Years a Slave, dedicated the best picture Oscar to "all those people who have endured slavery".

"Everyone deserves not just to survive, but to live," he said. "This is the most important legacy of Solomon Northup."

Based on a true story, it follows the life of a free black man - Northup - who is kidnapped and sold into slavery in Louisiana.

Newcomer Lupita Nyong'o won the best supporting actress award for her film debut as slave worker Patsey.

The Kenyan actress paid tribute to her character and thanked her for her "guidance": "It doesn't escape me for one moment that so much joy in my life is thanks to so much pain in someone else's," said the star, who turned 31 this weekend.

List of all this years winners.

Source: Press Release



Related Stories

Film Stories : Gravity (2013)

Person Stories : Matthew McConaughey

Person Stories : Cate Blanchett