Torino Film Festival

The Torino Film Festival was established in 1982 as the International Youth Film Festival, or more simply Youth Cinema. Founded by Professor Gianni Rondolino, the festival is dedicated to innovative styles and new trends in cinema in Italy and abroad. Every year TFF has established itself as a forum dedicated to supporting independent cinema, first and second works, documentaries and linguistic experimentation. The festival also supports research on the history of cinema through in-depth retrospectives of international cinematic artists.

From 1989 to 1998, the festival was led by Alberto Barbera who honored Professor Rondolino’s original conception ??combining “high practices” and “low practices” of cinema. After Barbera’s leadership, the festival continued to attract distinguished directors, such as Stefano della Casa, Giulia d’Agnolo Vallan, Roberto Turigliatto, Nanni Moretti, Gianni Amelio, Paolo Virzì and Emanuela Martini. In December 2019, Stefano Francia di Celle was appointed the director taking the festival in a new direction reflecting the innovative spirit of TFF’s heritage.

Throughout its history, the Torino Film Festival has had the honor of hosting international artists such as Francis Ford Coppola, Wim Wenders, Claude Chabrol, John Carpenter, Manoel De Oliveira, Aleksandr Sokurov, Emir Kusturica, William Friedkin, Walter Hill, Dario Argento, Oliver Stone, Kelly Reichardt, Michael Haneke, Joe Dante, John Landis and Greta Gerwig. However, the real objective of the festival is to discover and celebrate emerging directors such as Luca Guadagnino, Nicholas Winding Refn, Lav Diaz, Pablo Larraín, Miguel Gomes, Josephine Decker, Lucien Castaing-Taylor and Verena Paravel, Pietro Marcello, Lisandro Alonso, Albert Serra and Alain Guiraudie.

The political and cultural roots of the festival have sustained TFF’s commitment to rigorous research and engaging cinema, reflected in the various sections of the program with the presence of both young and established directors, such as Jean- Marie Straub and Danielle Huillet, Daniele Gaglianone, Matteo Garrone, Ken Jacobs, Ben Russell, Teresa Villaverde, Amir Naderi, Júlio Bressane, Robert Guédiguian and Jean-Daniel Pollet.

Since 2006, the Turin Film Festival has been organized by the National Cinema Museum, which also hosts the internationally renowned festivals CinemAmbiente and Lovers Film Festival. The Festival also collaborates with the Torino Film Lab, a center for training filmmakers and developing innovative film projects.

Located in different parts of the city, TFF serves a varied audience reflecting the richness and diversity of Torino. What makes the Torino Film Festival unique is its commitment to diversity, collaboration and innovation. This unique mix draws a passionate community of filmmakers and film lovers to celebrate the power of cinema to unite and inspire us.


Via Montebello, 1510124, Torino


Telephone: +39 011 8138811