Max : About The Filmmakers

Menno Meyjes (Writer/Director) Menno Meyjes makes his directorial debut with MAX based on his daring and original script about a one-armed World War One veteran who becomes a witness to history when he decides to help another young vet named Adolf Hitler become an artist.
Meyjes is best known as a sought-after screenwriter, having garnered an Academy Award nomination for his screenplay adaptation of "The Color Purple," directed by Steven Spielberg. Meyjes worked again with Spielberg on the scripts for "Indiana Jones and The Last Crusade" and "Empire of the Sun. " His other credits include "The Siege" directed by Ed Zwick and starring Denzel Washington, Bruce Willis and Annette Bening.

Andras Hamori (Producer) Films produced or executive produced by Andras Hamori have been nominated for two Academy Awards, three Golden Globe Awards and has won several major awards at the Cannes International Film Festival, as well as the Berlin, Venice and Toronto Film Festivals. His films have also won a number of European Film Awards and Canadian Academy Awards including Best Picture for Istvan Szabo's "Sunshine. "

Hamori was born in Hungary, where he received his doctorate from the Budapest University of Law. In 1981, after serving as a theater and film critic for several Hungarian and British publications, he moved to Toronto. Four years later Hamori became a founding partner of Alliance Entertainment and from 1995 to 2000 he was President of Alliance Atlantis Pictures.

Hamori's most recent producing credits include "Formula 51" starring Samuel L. Jackson and Robert Carlyle; "Owning Mahowny" starring Philip Seymour Hoffman, Minnie Driver and John Hurt; Istvan Szabo's "Sunshine" starring Ralph Fiennes; and David Cronenberg's "eXistenZ" starring Jude Law and Jennifer Jason Leigh. As executive producer his credits include Lynne Ramsay's "Morvern Callar" starring Samantha Morton; Shane Meadows' "A Room For Romeo Brass" starring Bob Hoskins, Atom Egoyan's "The Sweet Hereafter" and David Cronenberg's "Crash. "

Lajos Koltai (Director of Photography) Considered one of Europe's most talented cinematographers, Lajos Koltai brings to life the spirit of modern art and the spectre of Nazism in the visual imagery of MAX. Koltai most recently was nominated for an Academy Award for his evocative photography on Guiseppe Tornatore's "Malena," for which he also won the Donatella Award for Cinematography. His other recent credits include Istvan Szabo's "Sunshine" and Tornatore's "1900: Legend of the Pianist on the Ocean," which won him the Donatello Award and the European Award for Cinematography. His work will next be seen in Michael Hoffman's "The Emperor's Club" starring Kevin Kline.

Koltai has worked as cinematographer on over 45 motion pictures, including "When a Man Loves a Woman" starring Andy Garcia and Meg Ryan, "Mobsters," starring Christian Slater and Patrick Dempsey, and "White Palace," starring Susan Sarandon and James Spader. His credits also include "Mother, "directed by Albert Brooks, "Home for the Holidays" directed by Jodie Foster, "Just Cause" starring Sean Connery and Laurence Fishburne, and "Wrestling Ernest Hemingway" with Robert Duvall, Richard Harris, Shirley MacLaine and Sandra Bullock.

Ben Van Os (Production Designer) Production designer Ben Van Os most recently created the playful Italian garden world of Claire Peploe's "Triumph of Love. " Previously, Van Os has designed many of Peter Greenaway's acclaimed films including "A Zed & Two Noughts," "Sailor's Don't Cry," "The Cook, the Thief, His Wife and Her Lover," "Prospero's Books" and "Baby of Macon. " He also was co-production designer on Sally Potters award-winning "Orlando" based on the work by Virginia Woolf. His other credits include Theu Boermans's "1000 Roses," Ate de Jong's "All Men are Mortal," Roeland Kerbosch's "Affair Play," Karoly Makk's "The Gambler" and Franco Dragone's "Alegria. "

Author : Lions Gate Films