2021 Oscar nominations

Best Pictures

Best Actress

Best Actor

Best Supporting Actress

Best Supporting Actor

Best Director

Best Original Screenplay

  • Judas and the Black Messiah - Will Berson, Shaka King, Will Berson, Kenny Lucas and Keith Lucas

  • Minari - Lee Isaac Chung

  • Promising Young Woman - Emerald Fennell

  • Sound of Metal - Darius Marder, Abraham Marder, Derek Cianfrance

  • The Trial of the Chicago 7 - Aaron Sorkin

Best Adapted Screenplay

  • Borat Subsequent Moviefilm - Sacha Baron Cohen, Anthony Hines, Dan Swimer, Peter Baynham, Erica Rivinoja, Dan Mazer, Jena Friedman and Lee Kern

  • The Father - Christopher Hampton, Florian Zeller

  • The Mauritanian - Rory Haines, Sohrab Noshirvani, MB Traven

  • Nomadland - Chloé Zhao

  • The White Tiger - Ramin Bahrani

Best Animated Feature

Best Documentary Feature

  • Collective - Alexander Nanau and Bianca Oana

  • Crip Camp - Nicole Newnham, Jim LeBrecht and Sara Bolder

  • The Mole Agent - Maite Alberdi and Marcela Santibáñez

  • My Octopus Teacher - Pippa Ehrlich, James Reed and Craig Foster

  • Time - Garrett Bradley, Lauren Domino and Kellen Quinn

Best International Feature

  • Another Round (Denmark)

  • Better Days (Hong Kong)

  • Collective (Romania)

  • The Man Who Sold His Skin (Tunisia)

  • Quo Vadis, Aida? (Bosnia and Herzegovina)

Best Original Song

  • Fight For You - Judas and the Black Messiah (H.E.R., Dernst Emile II and Tiara Thomas)

  • Hear my Voice - The Trial of the Chicago 7 (Daniel Pemberton and Celeste Waite)

  • Husavik - Eurovision Song Contest: The Story of Fire Saga (Savan Kotecha, Fat Max Gsus and Rickard Göransson)

  • Io Si (Seen) - The Life Ahead La Vita Davanti a Se (Diane Warren and Laura Pausini)

  • Speak Now - One Night in Miami... (Leslie Odom, Jr and Sam Ashworth)

Best Original Score

  • Da 5 Bloods - Terence Blanchard

  • Mank - Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross

  • Minari - Emile Mosseri

  • News of the World - James Newton Howard

  • Soul - Trent Reznor, Atticus Ross and Jon Batiste

Best Cinematography

  • Judas and the Black Messiah - Sean Bobbitt

  • Mank - Erik Messerschmidt

  • News of the World - Dariusz Wolski

  • Nomadland - Joshua James Richards

  • The Trial of the Chicago 7 - Phedon Papamichael

Best Visual Effects

  • Love and Monsters - Matt Sloan, Genevieve Camilleri, Matt Everitt and Brian Cox

  • The Midnight Sky - Matthew Kasmir, Christopher Lawrence, Max Solomon and David Watkins

  • Mulan - Sean Faden, Anders Langlands, Seth Maury and Steve Ingram

  • The One and Only Ivan - Santiago Colomo Martinez, Nick Davis, Greg Fisher

  • Tenet - Andrew Jackson, David Lee, Andrew Lockley and Scott Fisher

Best Film Editing

  • The Father - Yorgos Lamprinos

  • Nomadland - Chloé Zhao

  • Promising Young Woman - Frédéric Thoraval

  • Sound of Metal - Mikkel EG Nielsen

  • The Trial of the Chicago 7 - Alan Baumgarten

Best Costume Design

  • Emma - Alexandra Byrne

  • Ma Rainey's Black Bottom - Ann Roth

  • Mank - Trish Summerville

  • Mulan - Bina Daigeler

  • Pinocchio - Massimo Cantini Parrini

Best Sound

  • Greyhound - Warren Shaw, Michael Minkler, Beau Borders and David Wyman

  • Mank - Ren Klyce, Jeremy Molod, David Parker, Nathan Nance and Drew Kunin

  • News of the World - Oliver Tarney, Mike Prestwood Smith, William Miller and John Pritchett

  • Soul - Ren Klyce, Coya Elliott and David Parker

  • Sound of Metal - Nicolas Becker, Jaime Baksht, Michelle Couttolenc, Carlos Cortés and Phillip Bladh

Best Production Design

  • The Father - Peter Francis and Cathy Featherstone

  • Ma Rainey's Black Bottom - Mark Ricker, Karen O'Hara and Diana Stoughton

  • Mank - Donald Graham Burt and Jan Pascale

  • News of the World - David Crank and Elizabeth Keenan

  • Tenet - Nathan Crowley and Kathy Lucas

Best Make-Up and Hairstyling

  • Emma - Marese Langan, Laura Allen and Claudia Stolze

  • Hillbilly Elegy - Eryn Krueger Mekash, Matthew Mungle and Patricia Dehaney

  • Ma Rainey's Black Bottom - Sergio Lopez-Rivera, Mia Neal and Jamika Wilson

  • Mank - Gigi Williams, Kimberley Spiteri and Colleen LaBaff

  • Pinocchio - Mark Coulier, Dalia Colli and Francesco Pegoretti

Best Live Action Short

  • Feeling Through - Doug Roland and Susan Ruzenski

  • The Letter Room - Elvira Lind and Sofia Sondervan

  • The Present - Farah Nabulsi

  • Two Distant Strangers - Travon Free and Martin Desmond Roe

  • White Eye - Tomer Shushan and Shira Hochman

Best Animated Short

  • Burrow - Madeline Sharafian and Michael Capbarat

  • Genius Loci - Adrien Mérigeau and Amaury Ovise

  • If Anything Happens I Love You - Will McCormack and Michael Govier

  • Opera - Erick Oh

  • Yes-People - Gísli Darri Halldórsson and Arnar Gunnarsson

Best Documentary Short

  • Colette - Anthony Giacchino and Alice Doyard

  • A Concerto is a Conversation - Ben Proudfoot and Kris Bowers

  • Do Not Split - Anders Hammer and Charlotte Cook

  • Hunger Ward - Skye Fitzgerald and Michael Scheuerman

  • A Love Song for Latasha - Sophia Nahli Allison and Janice Duncan